International School Sport Federation invites schools sport organisations which are full or associateschools3 members of ISF to participate in the World Schools Ski Championships 2012 from 5th to 10th March 2012 in the Aosta Valley-Gressoney-ITALY.

This year Ireland, for the first time, will send two teams in Girls and Boys categories in Alpine Skiing.

The Schools Squad was announced at the World Snow Day on 22nd January 2012. The teams will comprise of 5 girls and 5 boys, all of whom are enrolled in a school in Ireland since the beginning of the school year 2011/2012.

Gressoney 2012

The World Schools Ski Championship is a biennial sporting competition organized by the International School Sports Federation (ISF) during which world titles are awarded in various alpine and nordic skiing disciplines. Young students from all over the world will compare their skills in team competitions so as to achieve the World Ski Championship title.

Emily Ainsworth – Alexandra College DublinCormac Comerford – New Park Dublin
Meabh Byrne – Norte Dame School DublinRonan Sharkey – Kings Hospital Dublin
Erin Flynn – Loreto College Foxrock DublinKieran McNamara – Mount Temple Dublin
Claire O’Leary – St. Angela’s College CorkConal O’Neill – Terenure College Dublin
Lauren O’Riordan – Institute of Education DublinStephen Power- Colaiste Choilm Dublin

The Irish Teams 2012 are Sponsored by Topflight Ski for Schools

Some historical facts

The World Schools Ski Championship has taken place in several resorts, many of which have also hosted World Cup FIS races:: 2010 Folgaria-Lavarone-Luserna; 2008 Alpe d?Huez (France); 2007 Andorra; 2005 Gallivare (Sweden); 2003 Schladming (Austria); 2001 Pralognan (France); 1999 Jesenik (Czech Republic); 1997 Garmich-Partenkirchen (Germany); 1995 Tarvisio (Italy); 1993 Collingwood (Canada); 1991 Val Cenis (France); 1989 Ostersund (Sweden); 1987 Saalfelden (Austria); 1985 Sunne (Sweden); 1983 Cortina (Italy); 1981 Saalfelden (Austria); 1979 Kuusamo (Finland); 1977 Cortina (Italy); 1975 Chamonix (France); 1973 Schladming.